Wellness

  • Wellness in Action
     
    Antioch 34 supports Wellness at School.  The District Wellness Committee has Board, Community, and School Representatives.  It was commissioned to establish annual goals and support school wellness with tools to monitor progress toward those goals. A Wellness Policy promotes healthy eating, an active lifestyle, nutrition education, and emotional wellness.  Families can partner in creating healthier lifestyles for their children at home and at school by offering fresh fruits and vegetables for classroom snacks and celebrations.  They can participate in the school lunch program or prepare healthy foods for sack lunch.  They can help their children learn about portion control and the major food groups.  Check with your child's school principal to learn about foods that may not be provided or sold for school sponsored events.  Encourage your child to participate in school sports and physical activity.
     
    Wellness Goals
     
    Wellness Education is promoted through the physical education curriculum, in health, and through a host of activities and events at school.
    The District Wellness Committee meets throughout the school year to set annual goals, evaluate activities, and identify ways to promote health and wellness for staff and students.
    The Food Service Department is making continuous improvements.  Fresh fruits and vegetables are served daily.  Lunches served at school meet the latest Dietary Guidelines for Americans and one-third of recommended daily allowance of protein, vitamins A, C, and iron.  Calorie, fat, and sodium content are controlled to be age appropriate.  All food groups offered are child friendly and prepared to provide the nutrients children need.
    Teachers and staff are committed to helping children lead healthier lives.  Only fresh fruits and vegetables are offered for classroom snacks and celebrations.  Foods and beverages will not be used as a student reward.
    Our Wellness Policy provides a framework for healthy living.  It promotes planning, portion control, nutrition, and an interest in physical activities that are all part of a healthy lifestyle.
     
     
    Antioch District 34 School Wellness Contacts
    Oakland Elementary:  Kim Kleisner, kkleisner@antioch34.com
    Antioch Upper Grade: Amanda Strom, astrom@antioch34.com
    Hillcrest Elementary: Lori Johnson, ljohnson@antioch34.com
    Mary Kay McNeill Early Learning Center: Donna Bradbury, dbradbury@antioch34.com
    WC Petty Elementary: Sandra Wimer, swimer@antioch34.com
    District Office: Human Resources: Jason Feldman, jfeldman@antioch34.com
                          Food Services Manager: Julie Byczek, jbyczek@antioch34.com
     
    Wellness Meetings
     
    If you would like to serve on the Wellness Committee please contact Julie Byczek, Food Services Manager at jbyczek@antioch34.com   Your name will be added to the email list of members and you will be notified of scheduled meetings.  The committee meets twice a year in the Fall and Spring.

    Assessment Outcome School Year 2018-19- Antioch District 34 Spring Health Fair

    2019 Health Fair

    2017 Health Fair

    D34 Blood Drive

    2018 Empower Health Wellness Screening

    2019 Empower Health Wellness Screening

    Increase Your Steps for Walking Challenge

     

     
     
    Health Links