Science Homework

  • Please make sure you check this page if you are absent.

    This is Homework and/or a description of what we have done or are doing each day in class.  Files can also be found at the bottom of the page for most handouts. 

    Use this resource if you lose any of your handouts.

     

     Monday November 4 - Students will be making a Rock Cycle by hand.  They can use the internet for reference.  They should make their own version.  They have a handout with guidelines.  It is due on Wednesday.

     

    Tuesday 11/5/2019 - Students have a work day for their Rock Cycle.

     

    Wednesday 11/6/2019 - Rock cycles and questions on the Grade Sheet are due.  Students are also taking the pre-test for the Amplify Unit "Rock Transformations"  Lesson 1.1

     

    Thursday  11/7/2019 - Lesson 1.2

     

    Friday 11/8/2019 - Lesson 1.3

    Thursday 11/14/2019 - Lesson 1.4  Parts 1, 2, and 5

    Friday 11/15/2019 - Lesson 1.5 Parts 1, 4, and 5.

    Monday 11/18/2019 - Lesson 2.1 Parts 1,2,3, and 4

    Tuesday 11/19/2019 - Lesson 2.2 & 2.3 Parts 1,2,3, and 4

    Wednesday 11/20/2019 - Lesson 2.4 & 2.5

    Monday 12/2/2019 - We did a quick recap of where we are.  We are talking about Rock Transformations and the Unit Question is How do rocks form and change?  The short answer is the Rock Cycle.  The rock cycle shows how rock can change from one type of rock in to any other type of rock.  There are three types of rock based on how they form.  Igneous rock forms when magma or lava (molten rock) cools.  Sedimentary rock forms when rock weathers and erodes and then goes through compaction and cementation.  Metamorphic rock forms when any type of rock undergoes heat and pressure, but not enough to completely melt it into magma.  Metamorphic rocks simply change.

     

    We also reviewed the Amplify chapters we have completed.  We left off with a question about whether the sedimentary rock of the Great Plains came from the Rocky Mountains, or whether the rock of the Rocky Mountains came from the Great Plains.

    Then we started watching a video on Colliding Continents which ties many of the concepts from the last unit to this unit. A link to the video is in the resources below, or try this link.   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8Zo1_FN6xw

     

    Tuesday 12/3/2019

    We finished the video and worked on Lesson 3.1.1 and 3.1.2

    Wednesday 12/4/2019 - Lesson 3.2 Parts 1,2,3,4  The new vocabulary students will need for this lesson includes uplift and subduction.

    Thursday 12/5/2019 - Lesson 3.3

    Friday 12/6/2019 - Lesson 3.4 part1 and part 4

    Monday 12/9/2019 - Rework and finish 3.4.4

    Tuesday 12/10/2019 - Unit Test

    Wednesday to Friday 12/20/2019 - Students are working on a project in class called the Air Car.  Students will have 8 days to work on this.  They may make as many attempts as they want to to get a grade that they want to.  THe farther the car goes the better their grade.  There is also a written log they need to make of their trials.  

     

    Monday 1/6/2020 - Happy New Year.  Students are taking a Pre Test today in a new unit  - PHASE CHANGE - THe Pre-test is in Chapter 1 Lesson 1 of the Phase Change Unit in Amplify.  Students that have Air Cars to test will also be able to test them in class today.

     

    Tuesday 1/7/2020 - Lesson 1.2 in the Phase Change Unit.  Students need to have Parts 1, 2, 3, and 4 completed.  (1.2.1, 1.2.2, 1.2.3, 1.2.4) We did Part 1 (1.2.1) together in class.  It should be done.

     

    Wednesday 1/8/2020 - Lesson 1.3 Hand IN parts 1,2,4 and 5.  (1.3.1, 1.3.2, 1.3.4, 1.3.5)

     

    Thursday 1/9/2020 - Lesson 1.4 Hand IN parts 1 and 4. (1.4.1 and 1.4.4)    Make sure to read ALL parts of part 2. (1.4.2)

     

    Friday 1/10/2020 - Lesson 1.5 Hand IN All Parts.  (1,2,3 and 4)

     

    Monday 1/13/2020 - Lesson 1.6 Hand IN Parts 1, 3, 4, and 5. 

    Tuesday - NWEA Testing - no class

    Wednesday - 

    Thursday - NWEA Testing - no class

    Friday - Second Step Lessons  

    Tuesday 1/21/2020 - Lesson 2.1  The concept that matter changes phase BECAUSE of energy being added to or removed from the matter was introduced.  Students have several items to complete in parts 2.1.1, 2.1.2, and 2.1.3.  They had time to complete these in class.  If they did not complete them then they need to do them outside of class for Homework.

    Wednesday 1/22/2020 - students observed snow melting, found the mass of the snow and water before and after it melted, and did other sciencey things today.  No HW

    Thursday 1/23/2020 - Lesson 2.2  Students have answers to turn in for parts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.  They should have had enough time to complete this in class.  If they did not they should complete the lesson for HW.

    Friday 1/24/2020 - Lesson 2.3  Students are writing a scientific argument from evidence.  Check the files below for a picture of the evidence cards.

    Monday 1/27/2020 - Students were given time to complete or rewrite their Scientific Argument from Lesson 2.3.  They were also assigned lesson 3.1 from the Phase Change Unit.  They have a Warm Up, a reading assignment on Liquid Oxygen, and a homework question to complete.  (Parts 1,2, and 4)

    Tuesday 1/28/2020 - Mr. Marshall was out.  Students have more time to complete Lesson 3.1.

    Wednesday 1/29/2020 - Lesson 3.2 Parts 1,2,3,4,5

    Thursday 1/30/2020 - Lesson 3.3

    Friday 1/31/2020 - Lesson 3.4 Critical Juncture Assessment (Quiz)